Singapore Prize 2019 Winners Announced

Over the years, countless individuals have made tremendous sacrifices on behalf of both Singapore and humanity by devoting themselves to their chosen field of work. Their contributions may have put Singapore on the global map or saved lives and increased quality of life among their fellow citizens. For nine consecutive years now, The Straits Times Singaporean of the Year Award honours those individuals who have made outstanding contributions to society without expecting anything in return.

As part of Media Corp’s Sustainable Events Award Ceremony, winners were honored during a green carpet-styled event featuring numerous celebrities who donned clothing made from recycled materials. Prince William donned an Alexander McQueen dark green blazer crafted 10 years prior, actor Donnie Yen donned an old suit, while South African actress Mbatha donned a vibrant navy blue gown by Stella McCartney (known for eco-friendly fashion). At this extravagant night co-hosted by actors Hannah Waddingham and Sterling K. Brown, several musical groups such as One Republic and Bastille performed, alongside US singer Bebe Rexha. Jacinda Ardern, former New Zealand Prime Minister and trustee of Earthshot board, joined us at this year’s launch to mark this campaign which includes special events and online content highlighting global solutions being implemented around the world.

Neo4j, an open graph data platform designed to help businesses unlock the value of big data, was chosen as the Most Innovative Graph Data Platform 2022 by judges from Google, IBM and Microsoft.

Singapore Sports Awards is an annual celebration that brings athletes from various sports together for recognition. First introduced in 1967 by Social Affairs Council president Othman Wok – now Singapore National Olympic Council) president Othman Wok, with an eye toward rewarding and encouraging them in their respective sports, including top three male and female medallists at SEA, Commonwealth, Asian Games earning cash awards of up to USD 10,000 funded by Singapore Tote Board; it is mandatory that winners donate some percentage of their prize money back to national sport associations as part of an athlete development programme.

Organisers of the 2024 Singapore Literature Prize (SLP) announced on Jan 11 that homegrown translators, comic-book authors and debut writers are now eligible for inclusion in its award categories – poetry, fiction and creative non-fiction in all four official languages, along with Chinese poetry – to allow more diversity published by local authors. Prof Kishore Mahbubani of NUS stated his plan is eventually broadening this to movies or comic books which may also qualify. “My goal is to promote deeper understanding of our nation,” Mahbubani stated.